This is cache of http://feeds.ziffdavisenterprise.com/~r/RSS/cheap_hack/~3/r9FwDKGAoqE/us_olympic_committee_trying_to_take_chicago2016com_away_from_grad_student.html. Cache is the snapshot of article that we took when we index feed.
To see original page click here.
We are not affiliated with the authors of this article and not responsible for its content.
U.S. Olympic Committee Trying to Take Chicago2016.com Away from Grad Student
2008-09-19 19:03:00 by Editor in Cheap Hack
 
In 2004 graduate student Stephen Frayne Jr. bought the domain name Chicago2016.com. Now the U.S. Olympic committee and the Chicago group organizing an Olympic bid for that year want it from him. They have filed through arbitration processes to have the domain turned over. The committee is currently using chicago2016.org as its domain, but that's not good enough. "We certainly see Chicago2016.com as the logical default domain for our site, and we believe having someone else control it is misleading for people seeking information about Chicago's bid," said Patrick Sandusky, a spokesperson for Chicago 2016. The Chicago Tribune article on this story describes "Chicago 2016" as "a moniker protected by trademark." I did a trademark search and there are several with that string in it, none of which were filed before 2006. Frayne launched the site to be, he claims, a forum for public discussion of Chicago's bid. He also owns Tokyo2016, another city bidding for that Olympiad, and is also being pursued for that domain. My own opinion: There are no trademarks in "Chicago 2016" that the committee can reasonably claim ownership of. Obviously it just hasn't offered Frayne enough money for the domain yet. Hat tip to DomainNameNews.

 
 
 
 
 
 
TOP SEARCH
Expand / MinimizeClose Widget
  •  
RECENT SEARCH
Expand / Minimize
  •  
RELATED VIDEO
Expand / Minimize
SecurityRatty FAQ
Sergey Zarubin, 31yo
CISSP, CCSP
Moscow, Russia