The registrar is Red Register, a registrar with a troubled legal history. They are currently being sued by Microsoft for registering 125 names that typosquat Microsoft's trademarks.
According to the letter sent by ICANN to Red Register, the company was informed back in February of a finding in the arbitration case of Cambridge Pavers, Inc. v Versata Software, Inc. c/o Versata Hostmaster heard by the National Arbitration Forum, pursuant to the ICANN UDRP (Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy). The domain at issue was cambridgepavingstone.com. The registrant, Versata software, lost the case, unsurprisingly since they didn't bother to file a response to the UDRP charges. The cambridgepavingstone.com home page is, of course, parked with the usual boring set of ads.
[Full disclosure: My front walk is built with Cambridge Pavers, and it's really nice. We're very happy with our decision.]
Red Register, as the registrar of record on the domain, was ordered to transfer the domain to Cambridge Pavers, and has ignored the orders. To get a sense of what kind of registrar Red Register is, try running whois on their own domain redregister.com: yes, it's a private registration. In fact, just who these people are is a little fuzzy here; the Contact Us page at Red Register lists addresses in Columbus, OH. But the ICANN notice is sent to a Daniel Sundin in Madison, WI. Two college football towns; perhaps Red Register hasn't responded because Mr. Sundin went off to grad school.
This will be fun to follow; it's hard to imagine they won't relinquish the domain in time. Not only have their permission to operate a registrar business been threatened, but it's getting press. But who knows, maybe the company is on autopilot and the snail mail piles up behind the front door.





